Display ad
HomeEntertainmentBooks8 Absorbing Historical Fiction Authors Like Hilary Mantel | Book Riot

8 Absorbing Historical Fiction Authors Like Hilary Mantel | Book Riot

This content material incorporates affiliate hyperlinks. When you purchase via these hyperlinks, we could earn an affiliate fee.

Renowned author Hilary Mantel, who handed away in September on the age of 70, was broadly recognized and revered for her Wolf Hall trilogy, in addition to the scores of different books and essays that she wrote throughout her profession. Her therapy of the political machinations of Thomas Cromwell within the courtroom of Henry VIII impressed legions of readers to choose up the trilogy, which was accomplished in 2020 with The Mirror and the Light. Mantel’s reward was not simply in precisely describing the historic occasions of the royal courtroom, but in addition in highlighting the human relationships and conflicts that drove palace intrigue. By combining an immersive model of writing with painstaking consideration to element, Mantel obtained mountains of reward for the Wolf Hall books, together with multiple Booker Prize recognitions. It’s led readers to search for much more authors like Hilary Mantel.

Many followers of Mantel’s work get pleasure from being introduced into the world of courtroom politics and scheming in addition to exploring her novels, articles, and essays that discover extra modern themes. Mantel had a present for attending to the human feelings, and foibles, on the coronary heart of a narrative, and this allowed readers to attach together with her work whether or not she was tracing the wives of Henry VIII or writing about modern England, equivalent to in her brief story assortment The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher. Readers in search of equally propulsive prose and insightful writing will need to take a look at the authors like Hilary Mantel under for extra Mantel-like writing.

1. Philippa Gregory

Fans of Mantel’s insights into Henry VIII and those who surrounded him will need to choose up the works of Gregory, finest recognized for her novel The Other Boleyn Girl. Like Mantel, Gregory writes primarily England-based historic fiction that goes past the bullet factors of textbooks to discover the relationships between members of royal circles. Gregory has additionally written about England’s Civil War (in her Tidelands novels) and affords readers seeking to dive into historic fiction the chance to listen to from a author known as “one of the great storytellers of our time” by reviewers.

2. Alison Weir

Weir is a UK-based author and historian who’s the main feminine historian by way of ebook gross sales in her nation. Readers of Mantel’s work who want to dive additional into the ladies concerned with Henry VIII will significantly recognize her give attention to the historical past of girls and households in British historical past and will particularly get pleasure from her books that painting every of the king’s wives. Weir additionally writes nonfiction that mixes her presents for writing and analysis into volumes that hint the lineage of England’s royal households.

3. Maggie O’Farrell

Like Mantel, Maggie O’Farrell has gained quite a few awards for her fiction, together with the Women’s Prize for Fiction for her novel Hamnet. While, in contrast to Mantel, she tends to be recognized extra for a mixture of modern and historic fiction, Mantel followers will discover loads of similarities between the kinds of those two writers. O’Farrell has a present for capturing human relationships, and people in search of tales of homicide and betrayal among the many elites will need to purchase her most up-to-date novel, The Marriage Portrait.

4. Shan Sa

Mantel followers typically level to her skill to light up the scheming of members of the royal family, a expertise shared by the writer Shan Sa. In specific, Sa’s 2009 novel Empress, which traces the lifetime of Empress Wu and the rise of China’s Tang Dynasty takes the reader inside a world of power-hungry courtiers and psychological warfare. Sa crafts a superb portrait of an Empress making an attempt to stability modernity and custom in a cutthroat, royal world.

5. C.J. Sansom

For those that like crime, homicide, and thriller together with their historic fiction, C.J. Sansom is a robust match. Sansom is finest recognized for his Matthew Shardlake collection, which is a thriller collection set throughout the time of Henry VIII. Mantel readers will benefit from the connections between her books and Sansom’s, as Shardlake is employed by acquainted figures equivalent to Thomas Cromwell and Catherine Parr.

6. Mary Renault

Just as Mantel discovered the environment of Henry VIII to be a font of inspiration, Renault outlined her writing profession by taking a look at historical Greece. Her novels explored the intrigue that surrounded figures equivalent to Alexander the Great and occasions just like the Peloponnesian Wars. Readers who loved Mantel’s epic examine of Cromwell may need to begin with Renault’s 1969 novel Fire from Heaven, which begins when Alexander the Great is 4 years previous and continues via his younger maturity.

7. Samantha Harvey

Samantha Harvey’s 2019 ebook The Western Wind was described by the Financial Times as “something I’ve only previously encountered in the work of Hilary Mantel.” for its skill to deliver readers again in time, on this case to the Somerset village of Oakham within the fifteenth century. Like Mantel, Harvey is a stalwart of literary fiction who has been nominated for a Booker Prize and who writes each detailed historic fiction in addition to modern literature.

8. Kate Mosse

Readers who need to discover historic intrigue in courts past England will get pleasure from Mosse’s The Burning Chambers collection. a sweeping epic that takes place over three centuries, the trilogy begins throughout the conflict between the Catholics and Huguenots in sixteenth century France. The collection, which will probably be accomplished with the publication of the third ebook in 2023, then traces the principle characters and their descendants throughout the globe and into the nineteenth century.

9. Elif Shafak

Readers who get pleasure from each Mantel’s historic and modern fiction will just like the works of Shafak, whose latest launch is The Island of Missing Trees. Like Mantel, Shafak writes in a wealthy and lyrical model that focuses on relationships. Also like Mantel, her work has attracted the eye of the Booker committee, which shortlisted her ebook 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World in 2019.

10. Weina Dai Randel

Fans of palace intrigue will get pleasure from Dai Randel’s Empress of Bright Moon collection, which chronicles the search for energy by a concubine within the Chinese imperial courtroom. Readers ought to then take a look at her wonderful backlist of historic fiction, which spans from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century.


In addition to the authors like Hilary Mantel above, Mantel followers can and may look into BookRiot’s Tailored Book Recommendations service! Our TBR bibliologists will provide help to discover books and authors such as you’re present favorites and serve up wonderful private suggestions!

And, in case you’re in search of extra Hilary Mantel content material, you should definitely check out our archives on her work!

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular