Badminton Asia Technical Committee chairman Chih Shen Chen has apologised to two-time Olympic medallist P V Sindhu for the “human error” dedicated by the referee throughout the girls’s singles semifinal match of the Badminton Asia Championships in April. Sindhu had been left in tears after an “unfair” name by the umpires halfway by her semifinal match towards Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi noticed her go down in three video games and finally log out with a bronze medal, her second within the continental championship.
“Unfortunately, there is no rectification at this time. However, we have taken the necessary steps to avoid a repetition of this human error,” the official mentioned within the letter to Sindhu.
“We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We believe it is part of the sport and that it is accepted as such.” The incident had occurred whereas Sindhu was main 14-11 within the second sport after having received the primary sport when the umpire handed her a one-point penalty for taking an excessive amount of time to serve between factors.
Sindhu, who turned 27 on Tuesday, misplaced her momentum after that incident and misplaced 21-13 19-21 16-21.
The Indian was seen having an animated dialogue with the chief referee after the chair umpire requested her at hand over the shuttle to Yamaguchi nevertheless it all fell on deaf ears.
“The umpire told me you’re taking a lot of time but the opponent wasn’t ready at that point. But the umpire suddenly gave her the point and it was really unfair. I think that was one of the reasons why I lost,” Sindhu had mentioned.
“I mean that is my feeling because at that moment it was 14-11 and could have become 15-11 but instead, it became 14-12 and she took continuous points. And I think it was very unfair. Maybe I would have won the match and played in the final.” Sindhu, who’s a member of Badminton World Federation’s (BWF) Athletes’ Commission, had instantly written a letter to the world physique and the Asia badminton confederation, protesting towards the choice.
Sindhu’s father PV Ramana hoped such incidents do not occur in future.
“I am just happy that they accepted the mistake. I can humbly request that if such situation arises again, the referee should take some time and see the recording, review the videos and then take an appropriate decision,” he instructed PTI.
Sindhu is at present competing on the Malaysia Masters Super 500 match in Kuala Lumpur.
Topics talked about on this article