Display ad
HomeSportsCricketAustralia bat, and play Neser, Boland; West Indies hand debuts to Mindley,...

Australia bat, and play Neser, Boland; West Indies hand debuts to Mindley, Thomas

Stand-in Australia captain Steven Smith received the toss and elected to bat in opposition to a revamped West Indies line-up within the day-night Test in Adelaide. Australia too had been pressured to make adjustments from the facet that claimed the primary Test by 164 runs.

They had a new-look assault, with common captain Pat Cummins failing to beat a quad pressure he picked up through the first Test, whereas fast Josh Hazlewood was dominated out with basic soreness after West Indies batted for greater than 200 overs throughout the 2 innings in Perth.

Scott Boland returned for the primary time since his heroics throughout final summer time’s Ashes, the place he took 18 wickets in three Tests at a exceptional common of 9.55. Also, seamer Michael Neser was a late inclusion for Hazlewood, as he acquired add to his sole Test look in opposition to England in Adelaide nearly precisely 12 months in the past.

Neser has been in good type for Queensland within the Sheffield Shield, with 24 wickets at 14.5 in 5 matches through the ongoing home season.

In one other parallel to final summer time, former captain Smith takes the reins from Cummins like he did within the Ashes Test in Adelaide.

Meanwhile, West Indies quick bowlers Kemar Roach and Jayden Seales failed to beat accidents sustained within the first Test. Debutant Marquino Mindley was included simply 48 hours after arriving from Jamaica, whereas fellow fast Anderson Phillip could be taking part in solely the second Test of his profession, having made his debut in opposition to Bangladesh mid-year.
Middle-order batter Devon Thomas additionally debuts, and replaces allrounder Kyle Mayers, who strained his proper teres main muscle within the first Test. The guests had been additionally with out Nkrumah Bonner, who was dominated out as a result of concussion he suffered in Perth, as Shamarh Brooks took his facet within the XI.

West Indies’ hopes of a series-levelling victory seem harder, having misplaced all three of their earlier day-night Tests, the final of which came to visit 4 years in the past. In distinction, pioneers Australia have mastered the pink ball with an unblemished report from ten matches, together with six on the Adelaide Oval.

Australia: 1 David Warner, 2 Usman Khawaja, 3 Marnus Labuschagne, 4 Steven Smith (capt), 5 Travis Head, 6 Cameron Green, 7 Alex Carey (wk), 8 Michael Neser, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Nathan Lyon, 11 Scott Boland

West Indies: 1 Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), 2 Tagenarine Chanderpaul, 3 Shamarh Brooks, 4 Jermaine Blackwood, 5 Devon Thomas, 6 Jason Holder, 7 Joshua Da Silva (wk), 8 Roston Chase, 9 Alzarri Joseph, 10 Anderson Phillip, 11 Marquino Mindley



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular