Display ad
HomeSportsCricketLanka Premier League to be played from July 31 to August 22

Lanka Premier League to be played from July 31 to August 22

The fourth version of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) will happen from July 31 to August 22 this yr, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has confirmed. If it goes forward as deliberate, this would be the first LPL season held in its initially scheduled July-August window.

Similar to final yr, the five-team match will happen at three venues, prone to be Hambantota, Colombo and Kandy, with every squad comprising a most of 20 gamers – 14 native and 6 abroad gamers. The Jaffna Kings have gained all three editions of the match to this point.

“We have decided to hold the tournament during July and August this year, as conducting the tournament during this period gives us the best possible opportunity to attract top international talent and also suits well with Sri Lanka’s international cricket calendar,” LPL match director Samantha Dodanwela stated.

However, the Major League Cricket match within the USA is about to run from July 13 to 30, and the Hundred in England is scheduled between August 1 and 27, and each these tournaments may influence abroad participant availability within the LPL.

All three earlier editions of the LPL had been postponed to November-December, having initially been slated for a July-August window. The inaugural version in 2020 was impacted by strict Covid-19 restrictions in Sri Lanka on the time; in 2021, a rise in coronavirus circumstances mixed with an unavailability of overseas stars attributable to scheduling clashes with different franchise leagues noticed the match pushed to the tip of the yr; whereas final yr, Sri Lanka was within the midst of a full blown financial disaster.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular